Retiree who wrote novel for fun joins world-famous authors on bestseller list – Telegraph.co.uk

I’m now composing my fifth novel, have got sold well over the million replicates associated with the initial four, and possess a new full-time career as the possible author.

“Nobody, least of all me, could have got seen that will coming–but I’m loving each minute involving it.”

her first novel had been priced at £1.99 – not low cost by Kindle standards – and began to get noticed right after Abbott utilized your ex marketing and also advertising experience to get exposure via social media http://typeissexy.com and forums.

after unsuccessfully composing in order to around ten agents, receiving a few positive feedback yet simply no deals, she chose to publish it on the actual internet herself throughout 2011/

The Lady expended weeks writing along with editing, prior to the girl loved ones encouraged her to try and acquire it published.

a lifelong reader, the lady informed the actual Telegraph the girl had initially settled in to retirement happily, with projects which includes renovating a 15th century Italian monastery.

Today 62 and creating total time, with an agent, publicist along with part-time PA, your woman is on her fifth thriller.

Through November 2011, Simply the particular Innocent ended up being number 1 about the UK Kindle chart.

“I had been sitting in your home 1 particular day, snowed in, and also I thought: ‘I can’t do any gardening, I never was a fantastic fan regarding housework thus I suppose I could begin in which book,” she said. It has been later joined in the top ten most-read self-published novels through Sleep Tight and also The Rear Road.

Gillian Flynn

Unsurprisingly, the many notable ten bestselling textbooks tend to be dominated by simply film adaptations as well as fifty Shades.

“Since the day I revealed my first book in order to Kindle, my feet haven’t carressed the ground,” the girl said.

Analysis regarding its revenue figures, released yesterday, confirmed Huntingdon, Cambridge, buys one with the most textbooks for each capita, although Yorkshire was crowned “the romance richesse in the north”.

“Once I started, I couldn’t stop.”

“One day I decided to publish it to see what may happen, as well as that selection has been life-changing. “In 2010 I had retired as well as I believed the close to future ended up being going to become among relaxation–except that I wanted to create a magazine with regard to my very own pleasure.

Abbott, who splits her period between your Channel Islands and also Italy together with your ex husband, founded an interactive media company, creating computer software for the education market, before selling it and finally retiring throughout 2005 outdated 53.

The Particular author in second place, Tracy Bloom, comes in from amount 47 in the all round chart, as soon as all authors are usually taken straight into account.

Your Woman can be certainly one of a large selection of 1000s of authors who have chosen to become able to self-publish using Kindle, as well as may be the number 1 bestselling independent author in its charts. .

Abbott, whom now writes complete time, mentioned the girl had been “stunned” to hear the lady had produced the particular list, printed about the fifth anniversary in the launch regarding Kindle.

Top-selling authors about Kindle

EL James

Lee Child

Stieg Larsson

Suzanne Collins

George RR Martin

Gillian Flynn

Diane Chamberlain

James Patterson

Peter James

Sylvia Day

Daniela Sacerdoti

Jo Nesbo

Hilary Boyd

Rachel Abbott

Jonas Jonasson

Jojo Moyes

David Baldacci

Jeffrey Archer

Yann Martel

Karin Slaughter

Kindle is currently celebrating its fifth anniversary, following developing from 400,000 titles to greater than 4 million

